All Aboard the Choose-Choose Train!

So, I am by no means a gamer…I mean I like the next popular app as well as the next person but there is something embedded deep within the pixels of these apps that drives me wild.  I have spent hours waking and even those hours I should have been asleep playing some of my favorite apps on my iPad. I want to blame my sister for introducing me to them but she has not once forced nor coerced me to play them. The truth is, I LIKE PLAYING GAMES! Whew, that wasn’t so hard to admit, right? Well the problem, is what happens when the game begins to play us? I mean I give myself a time limit, 15 minutes and then I have to go to the grocery store, an hour later I’m stilling trying to juice some cubes, grow some wheat, or crush some candy… how does this happen? How does time slip away from me?  When did I lose control and allow something or someone to control my every move for an endless amount of time? How do I or better yet why do I become upset, angry, frustrated when life interrupts my game? When out of the coma like state I’m in, I’m suddenly  jolted into reality with children, money, debt, dinner preparation, and working?

The simple answer, choice.  Choices, are made every second of the day. From what do I wear, where do I eat, what do I drive, where I work, what I choose to do, choices determine our destiny.

Today I chose to write from a place that hurts a LOT,  I thought I can’t be free or help others be free if I deny the choices I have already made and those that I will continue to make. There is a consequence for choice, we could spend our lives debating if those are good or bad, but wisdom helps me understand there is a consequence for each choice I make. When I spend hours watching television, playing games, gossiping, or surfing the internet, before I acted there was a choice. The mind is our greatest tool, it controls our body. The mind tells us when we need to sleep, eat, play, and when we have had enough. Our struggle is listening and then choosing a different path.

Choose Life. Choose Faith. Choose Health. Choose Fun. Choose challenges that make you grow.  Choose. Choose. Choose.

If you decide that i’s a bad thing to worship God, then CHOOSE a go you’d rather serve- and do it TODAY. Joshua 24:15a (The Message Translation)

Happy New Life!

Leave a Reply

